Contact Us
Updated: 29 January 2026

Cancelling, Deleting & Correcting Billing

Overview

Typical rebilling processes within Ankota are outlined below. Please note that with certain data integrations, you may need to take additional or alternate steps. See your state guides for further information.


Please note that if you are here strictly to review how to update, add, delete, or cancel visits, you may wish to reference the Daily Adjustments article instead.

If you need to cancel or delete a visit or cancel billing for a visit that was already accepted, see our Cancel/Delete Previously Accepted Visits + Export article.


The key concept is understanding:

a) Do you need to rebill with old invoices, or cancel invoices/create new invoices?

b) Do you bill via a Merged Health Care Claim or via a "silent" data Export?


This article includes:

I. Rebilling with Old Invoices

Data Correction & Manual Merged Health Care Claim 

Data Correction & Triggering Export 

II. Rebilling with New Invoices

Cancel Payrolls

Cancel Billing

Update, Add, Delete, or Cancel Visits

Re-Create Billing

Re-Create Payroll


I. Rebilling with Old Invoices

In some cases, you do NOT need to cancel billing and/or payroll in order to re-bill/re-create invoices with corrected data. If in doubt, check your export under Reports View.  


For example, the following updates will be automatically picked up by the system:

  • Settings updates, such as NPIs, Provider Medicaid IDs, and Taxonomy Codes

  • Certain client data updates, such as for Medicaid IDs


See below for a walkthrough of this simple process.


Data Correction & Manual Merged Health Care Claim

Some organizations use the EDI file/Merged Health Care Claim to bill. 


To re-bill with this file, first correct your system data as needed.


Next, export your 837 file using the Merged Health Care Claim button as follows:

  • Click Billing

  • Click Billing Report

  • Filter for your invoice(s)

  • Click View Report

  • Select the invoice(s) under Completed

  • Click the Export As Merged Health Care Claim button

  • Save the file

  • Upload the file to the appropriate portal


Data Correction & Triggering Export

Some organizations send data "silently" to the integrated partner (such as Tellus, Sandata, HHAx, etc.) upon completing invoices.


To re-bill with this process, first correct your system data as needed.


Next, trigger your Sandata, Tellus, HHAx, or Tellus export as follows:

  • Click Billing

  • Click Billing Report

  • Filter for your invoice(s)

  • Click View Report

  • Select the invoice(s) under Billings - Complete

  • Click the Change to Drafts button

  • Select the invoice(s) under Billing - Drafts

  • Click the Complete button to move them to Complete


NOTE: If your visits have been accepted to the Work List in Tellus, you cannot re-send that data to Tellus. They will no longer accept status updates. You must fix any errors in Tellus.

 
NOTE: Some integrations require special steps to re-send data, particularly if your automated export process is not yet active (during first weeks of new exports). Speak to your Ankota specialist as needed.


II. Rebilling with New Invoices

Some changes require new invoices. For example, the following updates will NOT be automatically picked up by the system and require you to cancel current invoices and build new ones:

  • Billing rate changes

  • Payer descriptor changes

  • Caregiver name changes


This data is part of the "frozen" invoice, so the invoice and corresponding payroll must normally be deleted and re-created. (Some exceptions apply.)


To re-bill with new invoices, you will cancel invoices and payrolls, adjust the system settings, and then re-bill and re-create the payroll record. At that point, you will be able to push through billing using your usual method (whether that is through the "silent" method of triggering data delivery by completing invoices, or by using the Export as Merged Health Care Claim button to create a file that is uploaded elsewhere). See below for further details.


(Reminder: If your visits have been accepted to the Work List in Tellus, you cannot re-send that data to Tellus. They will no longer accept status updates. You must fix any errors in Tellus.)


Cancel Payrolls

To cancel your payrolls,

  • Click Billing/Payroll

  • Click Payroll Report

  • Filter for your payroll(s)

  • Click View Report

  • Select the payroll(s) under Completed

  • Click the Change to Drafts button

  • Select the invoice(s) under Payroll - Drafts

  • Click the Cancel Payrolls button to delete the payrolls


Cancel Billing

To cancel your invoices,

  • Click Billing/Payroll

  • Click Billing Report

  • Filter for your invoice(s)

  • Click View Report

  • Select the invoice(s) under Completed

  • Click the Change to Drafts button

  • Select the invoice(s) under Billing - Drafts

  • Click the Cancel Invoices button to delete the invoices


Update, Add, Delete, or Cancel Visits

Next, you can correct your system information. Please note you may update, add, delete, or cancel visits as needed during the adjustments process. For payer descriptor, visit type, client, or caregiver changes, we recommend using the Visits page for changes.


Re-Create Billing

To re-create billing, simply follow the usual billing process.


Re-Create Payroll

To re-create payroll, simply follow the usual billing process.